

Jean-Claude JUNCKER
President of the European Commission

Rue de la Loi, 200 B-1049 Brussels Tel. +32 2 295 50 33 jean-claude.juncker@ec.europa.eu

Brussels, 1 1 JUL. 2017 Ares (2017) 1714855

Dear Honourable Member,

I would like to thank you and the co-signatories for your letter of 30 March 2017 expressing your concerns regarding the Nord Stream 2 project.

The European Commission is fully committed to pursuing the objectives of the Energy Union strategy. In this context, the Commission is promoting diversification and competitive gas markets in the EU. In order to complete the internal energy market, the Commission supports infrastructure projects of common interest, which improve the interconnectivity between the Member States.

Furthermore, the Commission, together with the Member States, is working to improve the resilience of the EU gas system to security of supply threats. To this end, the Commission has proposed a revised Regulation on security of gas supplies on which the European Parliament and the Council have recently reached an agreement.

As regards Nord Stream 2, the Commission considers that the project is not in line with the policy objectives of the Energy Union as it will not give access to a new supply source. Nord Stream 2, if built, cannot and should not be operated in a legal void or solely according to the law of a third country.

./..

Mr Jeppe KOFOD and 64 MEP co-signatories Member of the European Parliament As a result a special legal regime respecting fundamental principles of international and EU energy law needs to be established. To this end, the Commission has, on 9 June 2017, adopted a recommendation to the Council to mandate the Commission with the negotiation of an agreement with the Russian Federation on the operation of the Nord Stream 2 pipeline, taking into account the need to mitigate potential negative impacts on the current gas transit routes, notably through Ukraine, and on the efforts of Central and Eastern European Member States to diversify and secure their gas supplies.

Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President for the Energy Union, and Miguel Arias Cañete, European Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy, represent the Commission in the negotiations in the Council of the proposed recommendation for a mandate.

Yours faithfully,

Claude TURMES, MEP Greens, Luxembourg Theresa GRIFFIN, MEP S&D, United Kingdom Carolina PUNSET, MEP ALDE, Spain Marju LAURISTIN, MEP S&D, Estonia Petras AUŠTREVIČIUS, MEP ALDE, Lithuania Gunnar HÖKMARK, MEP EPP, Sweden Zdzisław KRASNODĘBSKI, MEP ECR, Poland Nikolay BAREKOV, MEP ECR, Bulgaria Edward CZESAK, MEP ECR, Poland Flavio ZANONATO, MEP S&D, Italy Davor ŠKRLEC, MEP Greens, Croatia Jacek SARYUSZ-WOLSKI, MEP Independent, Poland Zigmantas BALČYTIS, MEP S&D, Lithuania Christel SCHALDEMOSE, MEP S&D, Denmark Renate WEBER, MEP ALDE, Romania Tunne KELAM, MEP EPP, Estonia Indrek TARAND, MEP Greens, Estonia Helga TRÜPEL, MEP Greens, Germany Ole CHRISTENSEN, MEP S&D, Denmark Sandra KALNIETE, MEP EPP, Latvia Karol KARSKI, MEP ECR, Poland Carlos COELHO, MEP EPP, Portugal Roberts ZĪLE, MEP ECR, Latvia Klaus BUCHNER, MEP Greens, Germany Margrete AUKEN, MEP Greens, Denmark

Krišjānis KARINŠ, MEP EPP, Latvia

Boguslaw LIBERADZKI, MEP S&D, Poland

Monika ŠMOLKOVÁ, MEP S&D, Slovakia

Laima Liucija ANDRIKIENĖ, MEP EPP, Lithuania

Antanas GUOGA, MEP EPP, Lithuania

Péter NIEDERMÜLLER, MEP S&D, Hungary

Benedek JÁVOR, MEP Greens, Hungary

Eugen FREUND, MEP S&D, Austria

Ryszard CZARNECKI, MEP ECR, Poland

Vilija BLINKEVIČIŪTĖ, MEP S&D, Lithuania

Yannick JADOT, MEP Greens, France

Victor BOSTINARU, MEP S&D, Romania

Paul TANG, MEP S&D, Netherlands

Urszula KRUPA, MEP ECR, Poland

Jakop DALUNDE, MEP Greens, Sweden

Valentinas MAZURONIS, MEP ALDE, Lithuania

Bodil VALERO, MEP Greens, Sweden

Bart STAES, MEP Greens, Belgium

Reinhard BÜTIKOFER, MEP Greens, Germany

Stanisław OZÓG, MEP ECR, Poland

Kathleen VAN BREMPT, MEP S&D, Belgium

Anja HAZEKAMP, MEP GUE/NGL, Netherlands

Ana GOMES, MEP S&D, Portugal

Richard SULÍK, MEP ECR, Slovakia

Anna Elżbieta FOTYGA, MEP ECR, Poland

Sorin MOISĂ, MEP S&D, Romania

Bendt BENDTSEN, MEP EPP, Denmark,

Bas EICKHOUT, MEP Greens, Netherlands

Jerzy BUZEK, MEP EPP, Poland

Algirdas SAUDARGAS, MEP EPP, Lithuania

Elly SCHLEIN, MEP S&D, Italy

Robert Jarosław IWASZKIEWICZ, MEP EFDD, Poland

Janusz LEWANDOWSKI, MEP EPP, Poland

Ivana MALETIĆ, MEP EPP, Croatia

Dubravka ŠUICA, MEP EPP, Croatia

Dariusz ROSATI, MEP EPP, Poland

Edouard MARTIN, MEP S&D, France

István ÚJHELYI, MEP S&D, Hungary

Fredrick FEDERLEY, MEP ALDE, Sweden